Barometric Pressure

I have discovered that the barometric pressure has a huge impact on my RA, and in Northern California we are fast approaching the  rainy season.  I don’t know if any of you out there have the same issues, but I know when I have vacationed in Hawaii, I had absolutely no RA pain or stiffness due to the difference in barometric pressure of the island weather.  Here in Norther CA, with the changing seasons and especially rain, my RA tends to act up.  I can almost always predict when it will rain because my knees will hurt and the bottom of my feet will also bother me.  My hands do not allow me to hold heavy items or bend as supple as on a warm clear day.

Who else has these similar RA issues, and where and when does your RA act up the most?

10 Responses to “Barometric Pressure”

  1. Linda P. Says:

    I’m too new to RA to be able to pinpoint what causes certain symptoms, but I was interested in your experience. Thanks for the viewpoint.

  2. Wren Says:

    I know exactly what you mean–barometric pressure has always affected my RA. I live in Northern California, too, and today, as the storm moved over and dropped the temperature, I’ve been twingy and achy-er than usual. Actually, for the last couple of days I’ve been feeling the change. Many of us who have RA have noticed that the weather/barometric pressure does this to us, even if medical science won’t admit it.

    Welcome to the RA blogosphere. This is a really great community, full of people who understand the challenges RA faces us with–and they’re empathetic and supportive. I’m looking forward to getting to know you!

    Take care, stay warm, and enjoy the weekend.

    • myralifeblog Says:

      Thank you for sharing; I hope the weather changes & the rain lets up so we will feel better. I’m looking forward to connecting with you and others within this community.
      Have a great weekend!

  3. Linda Newsom Says:

    I used to live in N. Ca. I now live in S. Ca I believe I feel a little better because of the climate here. my twitter name is alinnzy
    Hope you day was with less pain

    • myralifeblog Says:

      I am happy to hear that it is better for you in S. CA; I am sure that the warmer climate makes a difference. My family & I have contemplated moving to a much warmer area, but I hate to think about leaving the rest of my family and close friends behind.
      Hope you have a great weekend!

  4. deb aka abcsofra Says:

    I soooo agree about humidity! I live in NC and the summers seem to be the worst for me in my “new” home. Now that the fall has arrived I find my ra is somewhat better and less painful. I lived in southern calif. for years and do find when I have visited that my ra feels better. And yes, I do think it is the weather :-) Although the rainy season there can bring out my ra dragon again. Welcome to the blogging world! Glad to have you and I am looking forward to reading your experiences. I am a 13 year raer and a recent blogger as well.

  5. HomeGrown Vegan Says:

    This is so true! I live in Colorado, and I can always tell when we are expecting snow/rain etc. I am in a bad flare at the moment, my husband reminded me just this morning that we are expecting a storm. I grew up in Northern CA and when I go back to visit in the winter, I hurt alot!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

